No wake zones ordered on Poinsett, 3 other eastern SD lakes

High water has caused South Dakota Governor Kristi Noem to sign an executive order to create temporary “no wake zones” on several eastern South Dakota lakes.

The following lakes have a “No Wake Zone”, effective immediately:

Lake Poinsett, in Hamlin and Brookings County,
Lake Madison, in Lake County
Swan Lake, in Turner County
Brant Lake, in Lake County.

The no wake zones will be within 300 feet of the shoreline on these lakes and will restrict boats to no greater than 5 miles per hour in those areas.

These no wake zones will be in place until high water conditions subside.



Heavy snow in Black Hills causing flooding concerns Man wounded after jail disturbance arrested at hospital DeVaney sworn in to South Dakota Supreme Court Large corn pile ignites at Arlington business Prosecutors charge man wounded in deputy-involved shooting Governor Noem requests federal disaster help